Contemporary Oriental Jewelry

With the rise of the Asian market in the 21st century, the Eastern world is receiving increasing importance day by day. Hence, in the field of art jewelry, a new force with cultural representation is exceedingly anticipated.

Since the 1880s, Art Nouveau, Art Deco, streamlined style, and Minimalism of the Western world has almost defined the look of today’s jewelry. In comparison, the oriental jewelry design accumulated over thousands of years appears overly traditional, making it hard to incorporate into modern people’s wear.

Jewelry can not only serve as a kind of ornaments but reflect people’s attitudes and minds. Born and growing up in the modern East with a unique and deep cultural background, is it possible for us to create a new style with the essence of the East but not old-fashioned?

LUMIN GARDEN is the answer. With the aim to “create contemporary oriental jewelry that passes down culture yet not to be restricted by tradition,” founder Chun-Yuan Tan and interdisciplinary artist Yi-Hsuan Lee together established LUMIN GARDEN Art Jewelry.

“Oriental art especially respects the combination of external form and internal spirit. With this point of view, I would like to create a different aesthetic style for jewelry design.” In childhood, Yi-Hsuan Lee lived abroad for many years, following her architect father’s steps walking through Africa, the Middle East and East Asia. She was not only brought up with a wild-spread vision, but also inherited her father’s talent. Yi-Hsuan Lee has an extraordinary sense to colors, lights and the subtle changes in texture. No matter in learning calligraphy, Chinese painting, or Western painting, she can get the feel of it and catch the trick very soon, and shape out her own style.

Taiwanese history has combined Chinese, Spanish, the Netherlands, Japanese, and the Aboriginal cultures. We have 3,000 meters high mountains and forests, surrounded on all sides of the ocean. Since Yi-Hsuan Lee came back to Taiwan, where all the cultural and ecological diversity there is has provided her with rich creative nutrients. With more than ten years’ orthodox fine art training, she can sketch out the unique fantasy world in mind with delicate meticulous lines.

High Quality Material

LUMIN GARDEN uses only natural gemstones with top 5% quality and chooses materials with extremely strict selection criteria. Whether it is the big-sized main stone or small matching ones, conditions such as vibrant color, high clarity, brightness, and fullness in shape must all be met. The requirements for cutting are still more nitpicking, and even matching stones designed as small as 0.8mm can be inlaid with the top Hearts and Arrows diamonds. LUMIN GARDEN only provides customers with the finest materials.

For more about LUMIN GARDEN’s policy on jewelry materials, please refer to “Material Regulation“.

Original Design

Yi-Hsuan Lee, graduated from Taipei National University of the Arts, double majored in Western painting and modern ink painting during her studies, especially adept at semi-cursive script. After starting making sculptures in 2019, she got inspired and extracted three unique oriental aesthetic concepts of “the breath of lines,” “the presence and absence,” and “the essence of posture” from calligraphy, ink painting, and sculpture. By applying them to jewelry design, she has built LUMIN GARDEN a highly recognizable aesthetic style.

Spirit of Contract

LUMIN GARDEN regards the relationship with clients or third-party companies as a long-term partnership and values contract and integrity. All documents and forms are based on the clarity and completeness of information, leaving no room for ambiguity. All jewelry works come with gemstone or precious metal certificates issued by licensed third-party institutes as the final quality control standard.

Founder Chun-Yuan Tan, GIA GG, CFP®
Chief Designer Yi-Hsuan Lee, GIA GG

2014

Feeling that Western aesthetic standards has held dominant position in modern art jewelry, founder Chun-Yuan Tan together with artist Yi-Hsuan Lee co-founded LUMIN GARDEN Art Jewelry in Taipei, with the goal of “creating contemporary oriental jewelry that passes down culture yet not to be restricted by tradition.”

2018

Established the first overseas base LUMIN GARDEN LIMITED in Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, providing custom-made jewelry services for companies and individual customers in the Greater China.

2019

Yi-Hsuan Lee started sculpture creation and found inspiration in it. She extracted three oriental aesthetic concept of “the breath of lines,” “the presence and absence,” and “the essence of posture” from calligraphy, ink painting, and sculpture, establishing LUMIN GARDEN’s unique aesthetic style.

2020

Image reconstruction for LUMIN GARDEN; in addition to substantial brand identity changes, online art gallery will also be opening, with certain works available for customers to pre-order directly on the website.

當代東方藝術珠寶

21世紀亞洲市場崛起,東方世界的重要性與日俱增,在珠寶藝術史上,亟待一股具有文化代表性的新力量。

從1880年代開始,西方世界的新藝術、裝飾藝術、流線風格與極簡主義,幾乎定義了當今大多數珠寶的樣貌,相形之下,過去數千年所積累下來的東方珠寶設計,似乎顯得過於傳統,難以融入現代大多數人的穿著。

珠寶不僅是一種首飾,它更反映著人們的態度與想法,身在現代東方的我們,生於斯、長於斯,有著獨特而悠久的文化底蘊,有沒有可能開創出既有東方味道、卻又不崇古老氣的新風範呢?

LUMIN GARDEN於焉誕生,創辦人譚鈞元以「打造傳承文化,但不被傳統所限的當代東方珠寶」為使命,攜手跨界藝術家李怡萱,共同創立藝術珠寶品牌LUMIN GARDEN。

「東方藝術特別重視神形兼具與氣韻生動,我想運用這樣的視角,為珠寶設計開創一個不同以往的美學風格。」李怡萱在童年時期旅居國外多年,隨著建築師父親工作的腳步,走過非洲、中東與東亞,自小就開展了寬廣的視野,也因為承襲了父親的天分,李怡萱對於色彩、光影與質感的細微變化有超乎常人的感受,無論是學習書法、國畫或油畫都能快速掌握訣竅,並且形塑出自己的風格。

台灣的歷史融合了中、西、荷、日與原民文化,有3000公尺的高山和森林,更有四面環繞的海洋,李怡萱回到家鄉後,這裡所擁有的文化與生態多樣性,為她提供了豐富的創作養分,十餘年的正科美術書畫訓練,也讓她得以細膩的工筆線條,勾勒出心中那與眾不同的奇幻世界。

嚴選用料

LUMIN GARDEN只使用品質前5%的天然寶石,選料標準極為嚴苛,無論是大顆的主石,還是小顆的配石,均須滿足顏色鮮濃、乾淨清透、明亮飽滿等條件,對於車工的要求更是吹毛求疵,即使小至0.8MM的配石設計,LUMIN GARDEN皆能以頂級八心八箭車工的鑽石予以鑲嵌,滿足品味卓越的藏家。

如果您想進一步了解LUMIN GARDEN對於珠寶材料的使用政策,請點選「用料規範」。

原創設計

李怡萱畢業於國立台北藝術大學,在學期間雙主修西畫與現代水墨,尤善行草,自2019年開始雕塑創作後獲得靈感,自書法、水墨和雕塑中,萃取出「行氣」、「虛實」及「姿態」三個東方特有的審美觀點,將之運用於珠寶設計之中,成為LUMIN GARDEN極具辨識度的風格美學。

契約精神

LUMIN GARDEN與客戶或協力廠商往來,皆看作長期合作夥伴關係,同時重視契約與誠信,任何文書表單以明確完整為前提,不留模糊的解釋空間,珠寶作品更佐以第三方公正機構所開立之寶石及貴金屬鑑定書做最終品管準據,值得信賴。

創辦人譚鈞元(GIA GG, CFP®)
首席設計師李怡萱(GIA GG)

2014

創辦人譚鈞元,有感於近代珠寶藝術皆以西方的審美標準馬首是瞻,於是攜手藝術家李怡萱,以「打造傳承文化,但不被傳統所限的當代東方珠寶」為使命,首先於台北成立LUMIN GARDEN藝術珠寶品牌。

2018

於香港上環成立第一個海外據點LUMIN GARDEN LIMITED,為大中華區的公司行號與個人顧客提供量身訂製的珠寶服務。

2019

李怡萱跨足雕塑創作,因而獲得靈感,從書法、水墨和雕塑中,萃取出「行氣」、「虛實」及「姿態」三個東方審美觀點,確立了LUMIN GARDEN獨特的風格美學。

2020

LUMIN GARDEN進行形象再造,除大幅改變品牌識別外,亦將推出線上藝廊服務,開放特定作品讓品味人士可以直接在網站上預購。